Rainbow 320 Inline Chlorinator

MODEL#R171096

MANUFACTURERRainbow Products

  (4.65 out of 5 Stars on 17 Ratings)

product q&a:   Ask a Question  | View Answers (27)

item is in stock

Description Documents1 How To's4 Q&A27 Parts1 Reviews16

Back To Top

Product Details

WARRANTY1 Year Warranty


Product Description

Spend more time enjoying your pool and less time on maintenance.  The Rainbow 320 inline chlorinator is the simple and reliable way to sanitize your pool.  Plumb this unit inline with your pool or spa return line, fill with chlorine or bromine tablets, and set the control valve to the desired amount - it's that easy.  No more putting harsh chemicals into the skimmer which can harm your pool equipment.  No more swimming with a floating dispenser in the way.  The corrosion-proof Rainbow 320 canister holds 11 large (3 inch) or 98 small (1 inch) slow-dissolve Trichlor or bromine tablets.  Bottom feed design can also be drilled and tapped at the top of unit for increased chemical dispersion.

Features:

  • Comes standard with 2" slip PVC pipe fittings
  • Includes slip adapter for installation on 1-1/2" pipe
  • Uses slow dissolving Trichlor or Bromine tabs and sticks
  • Heavy-duty 1/2 in. control valve and a replaceable 1/2 in. check valve/elbow
  • Bottom feed line with option for top feed if additional chemical levels are needed
  • Top feed 1/2 in. x 18 in. extension tubing is included
  • Optional cap wrench and corrosion-resistant check valves available

Specifications:

  • Sanitizes 6,500 - 27,000 gallons bottom feed or 18,000- 70,000 gallons top feed
  • Dimensions: 17-3/4 in.(H) x 5 in. (W) x 10 in. (D)
  • Service clearance for lid removal is 19 inches


* Note: Consult your local authority to determine their guidelines if needed. Results may vary due to pool/spa equipment and many other factors.

Large Tab Capacity:
11
Small Tablet Capacity:
98
Typical Order Qty.:
1
Documents

Rainbow 320 InLine Chlorinator Owner's Manual (1.19 MB)

Please feel free to view our complete library of owners manuals.

Ask a Question
Q&A

Asked on 09/12/2014 by Guest

I have a Rainbow 320 in-line chlorinator that the tablets never seam to dissolve?

Answered on 09/12/2014 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

The main reason will be the screen at the bottom of the tube. Part number #2114-16. You can try first removing the tablets and pouring hot water in to help disolve what is gumming up the screen. If that does not rememdy the problem, a new screen is needed.

Asked on 10/12/2012 by Guest

Can the Rainbow 320 inline chlorinator be used on an above ground round 28' x 4' pool or is there another type I should be looking at?

Answered on 10/12/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

You can only use the Rainbow 320 inline chlorinator on your above ground pool if it is plumbed using schedule 40 pvc. For a standard above ground pool chlorinator, you can take a look here

Asked on 08/15/2012 by Guest

I own a Rainbow 320 Chlorinator. When the unit is running, is the chamber with the chlorine tabs supposed to fill to the top with water, regardless of the dial setting (1-10)? When I open the top to put in more tabs, the water level quickly drains from the chamber. Is this normal?

Answered on 08/15/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

No, the water is not supposed to be filling the cylinder. Water would only reach the first couple of tablets. Water will always drain from the unit once the lid is removed. This is because the pressure is released from the system when the lid is removed.

Asked on 08/15/2012 by Guest

What is the distance from end to end where the Rainbow 320 chlorinator hooks up to the piping?

Answered on 08/15/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

The Rainbow 320 Chlorinator measures 17 ¾" H x 5" W x 10" D and will hook up to either 1.5" or 2" plumbing.

Asked on 08/15/2012 by Guest

The water in my Rainbow 320 Inline Chlorinator keeps draining. Do I need to replace any parts? Seems to be draining water faster than water is coming in.

Answered on 08/15/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

It sounds like you may need to replace an o-ring or gasket, We do carry all of the replacement parts for the Rainbow 320 Inline Chlorinator.  However, Pentair's technical support should be able to assist you. Their toll free number is 1-800-831-7133.

Asked on 08/15/2012 by Guest

Does the ozonator install before the Rainbow Inline Chlorinator? Or after?

Answered on 08/15/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

The ozonator should be installed after the chlorinator.

Asked on 08/15/2012 by Guest

I am interested in purchasing the Rainbow 320 Chlorinator. I have hose for all three pool lines, however, I would like to replace them with PVC considering the chlorinator would have to be hooked up on PVC. Can you list the PVC parts I would need to hook it up to my filter?

Answered on 08/15/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

Unfortunately, we do carry any PVC plumbing supplies. You should be able to find the PVC supplies at any local hardware store though.

Asked on 08/15/2012 by Guest

What size pool is the rainbow 320 designed for?

Answered on 08/15/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

The Rainbow 320 Inline Chlorinator is designed for pools between 6,500 - 27,000 gallons.

Asked on 08/15/2012 by Guest

I have a Rainbow 320 Inline chlorinator. It seems to be clogged. Can I unscrew the body (holds the 3"tablets) and then clean out the plastic screen at the bottom or is there a better way to unclog the chlorinator?

Answered on 08/15/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

We recommend that you contact Pentair directly for more information on cleaning out your chlorinator. Their technical support should be able to assist you. Their toll free number is 1-800-831-7133.

Asked on 08/15/2012 by Guest

The cap is stuck and when I try to open with a bit of force the whole cylinder turns. Do you have any recommendations on how to remove?

Answered on 08/15/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

I would suggest using the cap wrench, which can be seen and purchased here http://www.inyopools.com/Products/07501352029066.htm. This cap wrench is specifically designed for removing the Rainbow Cholrinator lid with ease.  

Asked on 08/15/2012 by Guest

I would like to know if the Rainbow 320 Inline Chlorinator would be sufficient for a 28,000 gallon pool (18x38).

Answered on 08/15/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

This is the correct chlorinator for your size swimming pool.

Asked on 08/15/2012 by Guest

I purchased the Rainbow 320 Inline Chlorinator for my above ground pool. The instructions that came with it states that if it is installed below water level, an additional kit is needed to tap into the line going back to the pool. I don't see this kit nor am I sure if this is mandatory. I also purchased the check valve when I purchased this product. Would I still need the kit and the check valve?

Answered on 08/15/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

We spoke with Pentair, the manufacture of the Rainbow 320 Inline Chlorinator and they stated that if you have the check valve you would not need the kit referenced in your owner's manual.

Asked on 08/15/2012 by Guest

Is there a feedback mechanism on the Rainbow 320 Inline Chlorinator that tells the unit the chlorine balance in the pool? Is there a way for me to set an automation that adds chlorine to keep the pool at the correct level? Or, just another place to put the tabs aside from the the drain basket?

Answered on 08/15/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

There is a dial on the Rainbow 320 Inline chlorinator which has a setting from 1-10. If you set the dial on 1 it will be releasing the least amount of chlorine to the pool. If you have it set at 10, this would send the most amount of chlorine into the pool. So you can automate the feed of chlorine to the pool but you will still need to manually test your water. We do not recommend placing tablets in the skimmer basket because this high concentration of chlorine goes directly back to your pump and can cause corrosion to your pool equipment. If you do not go with an automatic chlorinator we would recommend at least going with one of our floating chlorinators so you do not damage any of your equipment.

Asked on 08/15/2012 by Guest

I broke my Hayward CL200 Chlorinator trying to get the cap off. Is the Rainbow 320 Inline Chlorinator any better or easier to use? Which one holds the most chlorine?

Answered on 08/15/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

The Rainbow 320 Inline Chlorinator holds eleven 3" tablets or 98 1" tablets. I am not sure how this compares to the Hayward model, as they only tell us that the CL200 holds 9 lbs. of tablets. We like the Rainbow Chlorinator because it offers better flow than the Hayward CL200, which reduces down to a lower diameter. Pentair also offers an optional wrench that can be used to remove the cap on the Rainbow 320. You can view and purchase the cap wrench here on our website.

Asked on 08/15/2012 by Guest

I'm replacing an existing Rainbow Model 320. Can this new Rainbow Inline Chlorinator be screwed in?

Answered on 08/15/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

The Rainbow 320 Inline Chlorinator is a slip connection; it does not have a threaded connection. You might want to consider either the Hayward CL100 or CL200 chlorinator. Both of which are threaded. These can be seen at: http://www.inyopools.com/chlorinators_hayward.aspx. Please note this would require some minor plumbing adjustments.

Asked on 08/15/2012 by Guest

What is the concentration of chlorine as it exits the Rainbow Inline chlorinator and can it be adjusted?

Answered on 08/15/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

To change the amount of chlorine released into the pool, there is an adjustment on the chlorinator. For the specific chlorine concentrations, you would need to contact Pentair's technical support. Their toll free number is 1-800-831-7133.

Asked on 08/15/2012 by Guest

Is it OK to install an inline chlorinator when my pool has copper connection pipes?

Answered on 08/15/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

Yes, but you would want to use a copper to pvc adapter when connecting the copper to the inline chlorinator.

Asked on 08/08/2012 by Guest

How many 3" chlorine tabs will the Rainbow 320 Chlorinator hold?

Answered on 08/08/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

The Rainbow 320 Chlorinator holds approximately 11 large (3") tablets or 98 small Bromine or Trichlor slow dissolving tablets. You can view our entire selection of chlorine and bromine tablets here.

Asked on 08/08/2012 by Guest

My chlorinator has begun to make a tattering sound,seemingly coming from the base of the unit. It appears to be operating OK. Have you experienced this in this unit before?

Answered on 08/08/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

No, we have not experienced this problem. The most common item on this chlorinator that needs to be replaced is the lid O-ring. You might want to contact the manufacturer directly. There contact information can be found at www.Pentair.com We can provide you with any of the parts they recommend.

Asked on 08/07/2012 by Guest

I own a Rainbow Lifeguard chlorinator 320 and have a slow leak. I assume it is in the flex hose which seems to be about 6-8 inches long. Do I just have to replace the hose? How do I do that? Is there a name for that flex hose so I can get a replacement? Thanks for any help you can provide.

Answered on 08/07/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

Yes, we do sell the replacement parts for the Rainbow 320 chlorinator. This is a common part that typically needs to be replaced. You can view the entire Rainbow 320 parts listing here. There are two compression nuts that need to be removed, which makes replacing the hose relatively simple.

Asked on 01/30/2012 by Guest

What is the difference between an inline and offline chlorinator?

Answered on 01/30/2012 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

An inline chlorinator would be plumbed directly inline with the plumbing.  For an existing pool, this would mean a section of pipe would need to be cut out to install the chlorinator.  An offline chlorinator attaches to existing plumbing by chlorinator tubing (holes would be drilled into existing pipe to attach the tubing.)

Asked on 05/16/2009 by Guest

What size pool is the rainbow 320 designed for?

Answered on 05/16/2009 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

The Rainbow 320 is designed for pools between 6,500 - 27,000 gallons.

Asked on 10/18/2007 by Guest

I am having problems removing the lid to my Rainbow 320 chlorinator do you have any suggestions?

Answered on 10/18/2007 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

We would suggest using the wrench which is specifically designed for removing the Rainbow Cholrinator Lid you may purchase this part through this link http://www.inyopools.com/Products/07501352029066.htm and you may view a picture of this wrench through this link http://www.optimusparts.com/onlinecatalog2006/sec_a/a-14b.pdf

Asked on 04/02/2007 by Guest

Does the in-line chlorinator come with a check valve, or must it be purchased separately?

Answered on 04/02/2007 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

No this does not come with the check valve. We would highly reccommend purchasing one of the check valves listed on this page http://www.inyopools.com/valves_flo_check.aspx 

Asked on 03/10/2007 by Guest

Is there a feedback mechanism that tells the unit the chlorine balance in the pool? Is this a way for me to automate addition of clorine to keep it always at the correct level? Or, just another place to put the tab aside from the the drain basket?

Answered on 03/10/2007 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

There is a dial on this unit which has a setting from 1-10 If you set the dial on 1 it will be letting the least amount of chlorine to the pool and if you have it set at 10 this would send the most amount of chlorine to the pool. So you can automate the feed of chlorine to the pool but you will still need to manually test your water. We do not recommend placing tablets in the skimmer basket because this high concentration of chlorine goes directly back to your pump and can cause corrosion to your pool equipment. If you do not go with the automatic chlorinator we would recommend at least going with one of our floating chlorinators so you do not damage your equipment you may view our floating chlorinators here http://www.inyopools.com/chlorinators_floating.aspx 

Asked on 09/03/2006 by Guest

How many 3" chlorine tabs will it hold.

Answered on 09/03/2006 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

Holds 11 large (3") or 98 small (1") Bromine or Trichlor slow dissolving tablets

Asked on 06/20/2006 by Guest

What kind of chlorine tablets do I use with this type of chlorinator? Do you sell them?

Answered on 06/20/2006 by Product Specialist Patrick P.

You can use either 1" or 3" tablets. We sell both - here is a link to the chlorine tablets: http://www.inyopools.com/chemicals_sanitizers.aspx


Ask a Question
Customer Reviews

Ratings Summary

Average Rating:   (4.65 out of 5 Stars)

Recommended: (94%) 16 of 17 customers would recommend this product to a friend.

17 Ratings 5 star:   (12) 4 star:   (4) 3 star:   (1) 2 star: (0) 1 star: (0)

Write A Review

The Most Recent Reviews  (Reviews 1 to 16 of 16)

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (5 out of 5 Stars) Rainbow 320 rocks!

Reviewed By: from Cleveland, OH ()

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: none

This is a very good product which has performed flawlessly.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (5 out of 5 Stars) great pool cleaner

Reviewed By: from Farmingdale NJ ()

works great can adjust to any amount of clorine you want to put in the pool

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (4 out of 5 Stars) good chlorinator

Reviewed By: from farmingdale nj ()

Just replaced the one i had and it was the same so it was easy for me to install works great

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (5 out of 5 Stars) great inline chlorinator

Reviewed By: from Englewood, FL ()

Complete kit with easy instructions.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

1 of 1 person found the following review helpful:

   (5 out of 5 Stars)

Reviewed By: from Rockwell, NC ()

Pros: installs easily

Cons: none

Easily cleaned and maintained. reloads easily and does a good job of maintaining the proper chlorine level

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (5 out of 5 Stars) In-line chorinotor

Reviewed By: from Advance, NC ()

Pros: worked and fit right

Cons: None

Worked perfectly. Actually if you need more than a few parts might as well buy this it comes with everything to replace it including a new mounting PVC pipe.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (5 out of 5 Stars)

Reviewed By: from Wellfleet, MA ()

Just what we needed.... Thanks

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (5 out of 5 Stars) Average Pool Owner

Reviewed By: from Tracy, CA ()

Pros: Automatic

Cons: None

Installed this product and is very satisfied with its performance. It's almost maintenance free.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (5 out of 5 Stars)

Reviewed By: from Dallas, Texas ()

Cons: Need higher quality fittings at the hose location.

I was replacing a 10 year old chlorinator of the same Model so the replacement was a 15 minute job. Very easy and straight forward. The product is fool proof and works great.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (5 out of 5 Stars) Great Inline Chlorinator

Reviewed By: ()

Fast shipping great service. Had this Chlorinator glued in in ten minutes. Its just that easy.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

   (3 out of 5 Stars)

Reviewed By: ()

I recieved the chlorinator but the top cap was missing

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

   (4 out of 5 Stars) Good clorinator

Reviewed By: from Livermore CA ()

Pros: does the job

Cons: none

I have installed and operated this clorinator and it is very satisfactory. I have had no problems at all.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

0 of 1 person found the following review helpful:

   (4 out of 5 Stars) Good chlorinator

Reviewed By: from Houston, TX ()

Pros: Simple, solid

Cons: Teeth on cap can break off

I've had one of these on my pool for 5 years and the only problem has been one of the teeth on the cap breaking off. I lost the wrench, so am using a crowbar... maybe that explains it.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

0 of 1 person found the following review helpful:

   (5 out of 5 Stars)

Reviewed By: ()

Pros: Excellent eactly as advertised

Very good time on delivery and quality perfect. Everything arrived in top notch condition.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

   (4 out of 5 Stars) Excellent product and would recommend

Reviewed By: from Ft. Worth, TX ()

Pros: I swapped an 11 year old version with this one and it fit perfectly. Didn't have to do any PVC cutting, etc

Cons: Black plastic tube that connects the unit to the main water line is very rigid. I had spend a lot of time trying to prevent the line from kinking.

If you want to stop putting tablets in your skimmer baskets then this is the product for you.
It has adjustable flow from the main water line to the tall tablet container. This allows you to dial in the ammount of chlorine during the season.

Just keep the tablet container full and during up the chlorine during the summer and lower the ammount during the winter.

Install was easy for me because I was replacing an 11 year old unit. The old unit still worked except the black connector tube broke a couple years back. I could have bought just the tube but for the price I just decided to get a new unit. I forgot how much I liked the Rainbow once I started using it again.

I have pool maintenance, which I do myself, so this took a good chunk of the work out of maintaining the pool

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

1 of 1 person found the following review helpful:

   (5 out of 5 Stars) Excellent Inline Pool Chlorinator

Reviewed By: from San Diego, CA ()

Pros: Easy to install and operate

Cons: None

This is an excellent inline pool chlorinator, it installed easily and is easy to operate with either 1" or 3" Tablets, a good choice!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No