CompuPool Salt Chlorine Generator 20K Gallons

This Product is no longer available

Related Products

MODEL#CPSC16

MANUFACTURERCompuPool

  (4.54 out of 5 Stars on 26 Ratings)
Ask us a question regarding CPSC16

Description Documents5 How To's4 FAQs14 Parts2 Reviews24
Product Details

WARRANTY3 Year warranty


Product Description

CPSC Series - Self Cleaning

ADVANCED SALT WATER CHLORINATION SYSTEM
The CPSC Series is a high-performance salt water chlorination system that lets you enjoy perfectly clear pool water without the use of harsh chemicals. It is a safe, clean, easy alternative to dosing your pool with dangerous and expensive chemicals.How does it work?

Salt is added to the pool water, 0.35% - 0.4% salt content. This slightly salinated water then passes through the electrolytic cell and this produces chlorine gas, which prevents algae and purifies the pool or spa.Why Saltwater Chlorination?

  • Irritation to eyes and ears is eliminated
  • Unpleasant taste and odour is greatly reduced
  • No more need to store expensive and hazardous chlorine
  • Fully automatic chlorination
  • Sparkling clear pool water – every day
  • Suitable for all pool surfaces

Features:

  • 3500 P.P.M. salt
  • LCD digital display
  • LED indicator lights
  • High and low salt fault lights
  • No flow sensor and fault light
  • Self regulating function if salt content is too high
  • Fully weather protected
  • Winter mode for cold water operation
  • SuperChlor mode for boosting chlorine levels during peak times
  • Touch pad controls that provide easy setting
  • Fully automatic operation – even when the owner is away
  • Easy installation to new and existing pools
  • Reliable and durable for long lasting performance
  • Digital time clock with battery back up timer as standard
  • Cell has push on water proof connectors for simple exchange of cell
  • Advanced high grade U.V. stabilised plastic control unit
  • Large alloy heatsink for heat disipation and corrosion resistance
  • 2 Year Full Warranty* on Power Pack
  • 3 Year Pro-Rata Warranty* on Cell
  • Factory wired at 220v; can be rewired upon installation to accept 110v

Click here for more Salt Chlorine Generator

*Warranty Note:
Please Note that Compu Pool reserves the right to determine whether a defective part under warranty will be replaced with a new part, refurbished part or have the part repaired.

Product FAQs

1/24/2013

Q:How long will a salt cell last?

A:A salt cell will usually last 2-4 years depending on how it is maintained and sized for your swimming pool. 

10/18/2012

Q:What can we use in our salt water pool to lower the alkalinity?

A:To decrease the alkalinity level in you pool, you can use dry acid, muriatic acid or simply partially drain and refill the pool. Just use caution as the acid will bring down the pH as well.

10/11/2012

Q:What is the difference between the 240v and 120v installation for the CompuPool salt system?

A:The CompuPool is preset at the factory for 240v. Please refer to pages 10 and 11 of the owner' manual for instructions on how to change the voltage to 120.

9/26/2012

Q:Does the Compupool CPSC16 have an internal timer?

A:Yes, the CPSC16 has an internal timer, but it will only turn itself on/off. It will not control your pump.

2/29/2012

Q:Is the salt included with the salt chlorine generator?

A:No, salt is not included.  You would purchase the salt locally and the quantity will depend upon the number of gallons of water in your pool.  Use a salt that is at least 99.8% pure NaCl. The preferred salt is evaporated, granulated, food quality, and NON-iodized.  Avoid using salt with anti-caking agents like sodium ferrocyanide, also known as yellow YPS (prussiate of soda). These cause some discoloration of fittings and pool surface finishes. DO NOT use calcium chloride.

2/1/2012

Q:I have a pool that is about 10,000 gallons but I am thinking of buying a salt chlorine system for pools up to 20,000 gallons. Would the larger unit be a problem?

A:It is not a problem to oversize a salt system.  It would take the larger unit less time to produce the necessary chlorine so it is actually more efficient.  When the pool volume is very close to the capacity of the salt chlorine generator (for example, the pool is 18,000 gallons and the generator is rated at a maximum of 20,000 gallons), we would recommend going up to the next size generator.

1/26/2012

Q:Is the Contol Unit supposed to run hot?

A:According to the manufacturer, it is common for the Control Unit to be hot during operation.  Because of the transformer inside, it can reach temperatures of 180 degrees in the summer.

1/23/2012

Q:Can I attach the cell to 2" piping?

A:Yes - The 2" piping will slip over and glue to the outside of the barrow.

1/23/2012

Q:Are the replacement cells interchangeable? Can I upgrade my CompuPool Salt Chlorine Generator by exchanging a CPSC24 electrode cell for a CPSC16?

A:No - The Control Units are matched to the Electrode Cells. The larger Electrode Cells have more plates and require more amperage from the Control Unit.

1/23/2012

Q:What happens to all my settings in the Control Unit when the power to the Control Unit is shut off with the pump?

A:The Control Unit has a battery powered backup feature designed for long term memory. It can save your settings for over 6 months.

1/23/2012

Q:Do you sell a CompuPool Salt Chlorine Generator for above ground pools.

A:Yes - We sell a unit for above ground pools up to 20,000 gallons. See  >CPSC16AG You need to order the part # ending in AG.  These units are specially designed with a recepticle at the bottom of the control box to plug in a pool pump. Make sure your AG pool is designed for salt water.

1/21/2012

Q:What is the difference between the cell cord labeled JD363200A and the one labeled JD363200A-11

A:JD363200A-11 is newer - designed to provide a tighter fit and eliminate intermittent display errors. You can use it in place of the older JD363200A cord.

1/21/2012

Q:Can I buy a replacement cable for my CompuPool Cell?

A:Yes - The cell cable plug and cord is sold in two lengths 6' (JD363200A-11) and 15' (JD363200B-11). The cords fit all four CompuPool models.

1/17/2012

Q:Does this product include everything I need to install and start using?

A:The package includes the control box, salt cell, and the power cords for the two. The only thing you will need to purchase separately is the salt, which you can find locally at a home improvement store.

Customer Reviews

Ratings Summary

Average Rating:   (4.54 out of 5 Stars)

Recommended: (100%) 26 of 26 customers would recommend this product to a friend.

26 Ratings 5 star:   (15) 4 star:   (10) 3 star:   (1) 2 star: (0) 1 star: (0)

The Most Recent Reviews  (Reviews 1 to 24 of 24)

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (4 out of 5 Stars) CompuPool Salt Generator

Reviewed By: from Colonial Heights Va ()

Pros: Ease of install, and use, great appearence and effecinecy.

Cons: Couplings are a little tuff to connect and are prone to leaking if not tightened correctly.

I bought one last year for the pool at the house I rent out. And it has worked wonderfully. So I bough another one for the pool I just had installed in my home. It's simple to install and use and is far more esthetically appealing then the other brands, That added with the great price which is far lower the the competition as well makes this salt system a real winner.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (4 out of 5 Stars) Compupool Generator

Reviewed By: from LOCKPORT, NY ()

Pros: Price. Ease of use.

Cons: none

Works well. Keeps the pool nice and clear. Once I balanced all the chemicals in the pool it was a care free operation.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (5 out of 5 Stars) Great Swimming Pool Cleaner / Salt Converter

Reviewed By: from Highlands Co. Florida ()

Pros: Reliable, easy to work, efficent

I had this unit originally installed with my salt water pool. It is easy to use, and works wonderfully, low maintenance also. the unit quit after six years, mainly due to we suffer from random power outages in Florida. When I called my Pool installer, they wanted $1,295. for replacement, I went online to INYO-Pools and bought it new for $471. + tax. The new unit was a snap to install, and has has better software upgrades from the old unit. Fantastic.. I also found out that the previous installer had not provided protection from direct weather effects, something that would have made the original work longer.. Something I have corrected.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

1 of 1 person found the following review helpful:

   (5 out of 5 Stars)

Reviewed By: from San Juan, PR ()

Excellent Product. Recommend it to any one. Easy to install and use. Save a lot of money every month.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (5 out of 5 Stars) High Price is not always the answer.

Reviewed By: from Scottsdale, AZ ()

Pros: Perfect

Cons: None

So many features, makes my previous system for $1,000 looks stupid.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

1 of 1 person found the following review helpful:

   (4 out of 5 Stars) Great Product!

Reviewed By: from Sonora, Mexico ()

Pros: As a chlorine substitute, this is near perfection

Cons: A bit costly initially, instructions could be clearer and more complete

I was skeptical about this product and did not like the high cost initially. It installs easily and quickly. The instructions are far from complete, especially in cluing you in on the regular maintenance required by the cell. It would have been helpful to have a clear idea of how to clean the cell. The initial cell usage is quite different from subsequent usage, in that it seems as if it is "breaking in," and starts clogging and reacting crazy---i.e., the over-salt red leds shining. During this initial break-in period, it would be wise to wait at least a day to add/reduce salt. Moreover, as the cell begins to get dirty/clogged it reacts as if your salt levels are low. Additionally, the water chemistry is really critical to be within the requirements of the generator. Moreover adjusting the salt initially is not as easy or straight-forward as the manual or the ads want you to think. Most of,if not all of us, live in the real world where the water from well or city supply is not chemically in the proper balance or is really "hard." Claims that the pool does not have a slightly "salty" are not true. Even with the pool clean and with the ppm of salt correct, it nevertheless has a very slight salty taste. At this point I have had the salt-generator installed for more than 6 months, and I have to admit I am quite pleased with it. It has kept my pool crystal-clear and trouble-free for the entire summer with less overall maintenance and during even the most difficult algae/heat months and this on a total of 3 50kgs bags of natural sea salt. In 15 years of owning and using my in-ground pool, this is a first!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

1 of 1 person found the following review helpful:

   (5 out of 5 Stars) Great product @ the right price.

Reviewed By: from Rogers, AR ()

Pros: price, user friendly, works very well

Cons: none after 1 season of use

This was an EASY replacement for my existing chlorinator. Easy to follow instructions with photos are on the website. THe entire install took less that 1 hour.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (5 out of 5 Stars) Salt System

Reviewed By: from Lockport, LA ()

Unit seams to be working great. Instalation was quick and easy.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

1 of 1 person found the following review helpful:

   (4 out of 5 Stars) Good product for the price

Reviewed By: from wichita falls, TX ()

Pros: Easy install, seems heavy duty.

Cons: Written instructions are weak, check web sites

Easy to install, seems to work as suggested. Wish I would have spent the extra money and bought a bigger size. Better to have and not need than need and not have. Summers are hot here. Replaced an Intex generator, don't waste your money: go big or go home.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (5 out of 5 Stars) Terric chlorinator Easy to Use

Reviewed By: from Surprise, AZ ()

Easy to use and understand. Works terrific.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

1 of 1 person found the following review helpful:

   (3 out of 5 Stars) New PCB Needed

Reviewed By: from Mount Pleasant, SC ()

Pros: Easy swap with LM2, Salt readings

Cons: Faulty PCB

Opted for this full system in lieu of replacement cell for Zodiak LM2. Easy swap as cell spacing is the same. Worked great for a day, and then wouldn't output more than 10%. Compupool said I need a new LCD PCB and they Fedex in 5-7 days.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (4 out of 5 Stars)

Reviewed By: from punta gorda, FL ()

I didnt like the advertisement when it said there were more than 10 units available and when i ordered mine it took over 3 weeks to get it cause they were backordered.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

   (5 out of 5 Stars) A Pleasant Surprise

Reviewed By: from Gadsden, AL ()

This thing is much better than I ever expected. After I got this thing set up the first time, my pool has been virtually maintenance-free. In over two months of use, I had to adjust for low PH one time. That is the only thing I have done to the pool chemically since start-up. I love it and would recommend it to everyone.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

0 of 1 person found the following review helpful:

   (5 out of 5 Stars) CompuPool Salt Chlorine Generator 20K Gallons

Reviewed By: from Kelana Jaya, Se ()

Pros: Best price ,solid built

Cons: relay for motor control not available

Solid design, better built, easy to install. Replacing another unit from different brand.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

0 of 1 person found the following review helpful:

   (5 out of 5 Stars)

Reviewed By: from ocala, FL ()

Pros: easy install and working perfect

Cons: original unit failed after 2 years

this was installed as a direct replacement of another unit of same brand

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

1 of 1 person found the following review helpful:

   (4 out of 5 Stars) great value

Reviewed By: from Mesa , AZ ()

Pros: price quality

Cons: might need someone to install it , control is boxy looking on wall

Price was hundreds of dollars below local prices at pool shops. Unit runs great and keeps pool crystal clear

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (4 out of 5 Stars) pools clear no more yellow stains no chlorine smell

Reviewed By: from dunedin, FL ()

Pros: clear pool no chlorine smell should have done it sooner

pool is clear no chlorine smell easy to install sjould have done it sooner

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

0 of 1 person found the following review helpful:

   (5 out of 5 Stars) nice system

Reviewed By: from Davenport, FL ()

Pros: works great

Cons: you will need tapcons to mount into block walls

nice system for the price.easy to install and works great.love it

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

   (5 out of 5 Stars) GREAT SALT GENERATOR

Reviewed By: from Largo, FL ()

Pros: VERY EASY TO INSTALL

Cons: NONE

I'VE ONLY HAD MY GENERATOR FOR THREE WEEKS AND AM VERY PLEASED WITH IT,I LOVE THE EASY OPERATION OF IT.IT WORKS GREAT

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (5 out of 5 Stars) great salt chlorine generator

Reviewed By: from Lake Mary, FL ()

so easy to install and set up- thanks inyo!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

Be the first to say if this was helpful or not

   (4 out of 5 Stars) Great economical salt generator

Reviewed By: from Goose Creek, SC ()

Pros: Great value, great for small to medium sized fiberglass pools

Cons: Don't know if there will be any issues with it in the future

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

1 of 1 person found the following review helpful:

   (5 out of 5 Stars) Great product.

Reviewed By: from Gainesville, FL ()

I have only had this product for a couple of weeks now and so far I am very pleased. We just had the first storm of the season and I am curious on how the pool will react. I remember when before I used to hate it when it would rain alot due to all the work I had to do to keep up with the chemicals to keep everything balanced. So, I am looking forward to not having to do anything really except to enjoy it.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

   (4 out of 5 Stars)

Reviewed By: from Kissimmee, FL ()

order was good and mr: Chet was a great help with my order and follow-up

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

   (4 out of 5 Stars) COMPUPOOL SALT GENERATOR 20K

Reviewed By: from Niceville, FL ()

Pros: Good instructions available on Web Site

Cons: Shorter power cable than would have liked

Very good site instructions. Very easy to install.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes - No